Book Awards

Wyoming Book Awards

2013-2014 Indian Paintbrush Winners

Sponsored by the Wyoming Library Association and the Wyoming State Reading Council, the Indian Paintbrush Book Award provides the opportunity for Wyoming youth in grades 4-6 to select a favorite book and honor its author. Its purpose is to help Wyoming students in grades 4-6

  • Become acquainted with the best contemporary authors
  • Become aware of the qualities that make a good book
  • Set a goal to read at least three good books
  • To honor an author whose books Wyoming students have enjoyed

Winner: Palacio, R. J. - Wonder

1st Runner-up:Applegate, Katherine - One and Only Ivan

2nd Runner-up:DeFelice, Cynthia - Wild Life

Buckaroo Book Award

The philosophy of the Buckaroo Book Award is to provide the opportunity for Wyoming children in grades kindergarten through 3rd to select favorite books they have read or have listened to and to honor the authors of those books.

2014-2015 Buckaroo Award Winners:

Winner:Corey Rosen Schwartz - Three Ninja Pigs

1st Runner-up: David LaRochelle - How Martha Saved Her Parents from Green Beans

2nd Runner-up: Amy Krouse Rosenthal - !

Soaring Eagle Book Award

The SEBA is sponsored by the Wyoming Council of the International Reading Association and the Wyoming Library Association to encourage students' active involvement with books and reading. This award is similar to the Wyoming Indian Paintbrush Book Award for grades 4-6, but designed for grades 7-12.

2014-2015 Soaring Eagle Winners:

Winner: Green, John - Fault in Our Stars

1st Runner-up: Cass, Kiera - The Selection

2nd Runner-up: Smith, Jennifer - This is what Happy Looks Like

National Book Awards

Coretta Scott King Book Award

The Coretta Scott King Book Award is presented annually by the Coretta Scott King Committee. The award (or awards) is given to an African American author and an African American illustrator for an outstandingly inspirational and educational contribution. The Award is further designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

Author Award:Jacqueline Woodson - brown girl dreaming

Illustrator Award:Christopher Myers- Firebird

Randolph Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Locomotive, illustrated and written by Brian Floca and published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

John Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

The 2015 Newbery Medal winner is The Crossoverwritten by Kwame Alexander and published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt