Combs, LeRoy 'Roy' (July 20, 1890 - December 23, 1963)

Funeral Service for Roy Combs


Unknown - October 26, 1963

Funeral services for Roy Combs, prominent pioneer Converse County rancher and president of the State Board of Agriculture, will be held Friday, December 27, at 2 p.m. at the United Church of Christ, Congregational, in Douglas with the Rev. Arthur Siewert officiating. Burial will be in Douglas Park cemetery.

Mr. Combs died suddenly Monday morning while working on a branding corral in a winter pasture north of Douglas with his son, Lee, and a friend, Jim DeBock. He was 73 years of age.

Born in Tecumseh, Nebraska July 20, 1890, he was the son of Ellsworth B. and Nellie M. Combs, prominent Nebraska ranchers. He came to Douglas with his parents in 1895, and attended Douglas schools. He started in the ranching business at the age of seven when his father gave him 40 head of sheep.

He acquired his present property in 1918, and was an active rancher until the time of his death.

Mr. Combs was the nephew of the late Bill Barrow, founder of the Douglas Budget.

LeRoy Combs married the former Miss Mary M. Githens in Douglas in 1935. They had two children, Mary Helen Hanlin and LeRoy Nelson, both of whom survive. Besides his wife Mary, other survivors include a grandson, Steve Hanlin; a sister, Mrs. Helen Warner, Casper; a nephew, Bob Warner, Laramie, and a cousin, Elizabeth Barrow Dorr, Sacramento, California.

One of the most respected individuals in Wyoming agriculture circles, Roy served as superintendent of the sheep barn at State Fair for 20 years. He served 14 years and 8 months on the State Board of Agriculture, and was president of the Board for 12 years and 8 months.

He was a member of the Congregational Church, Wyoming Pioneer Association, Douglas Chamber of Commerce, Kiwanis Club, Woodmen of the World, Moose and Elks lodges.

Mr. Combs was interested in history and related several stories of the early pioneer days in Converse County. He also did much work for charity.

State officials and leading citizen throughout the state expressed both shock and sorrow upon hearing of Mr. Combs' death. He was one of the most respected men in this community, and lent a helping hand in numerous community affairs. Commissioner of Agriculture, O.Henry Engendorff described Mr. Combs as a "great leader-not only in agriculture-but in civic and political affairs of the state.

Honorary pallbearers will include Mr. Engendorff and other members of the State Board of Agriculture, J. Delos Anderson, Afton; Jack Heartzler, Veteran; John Scheurman, Worland; Burton Kerns, Parkman; Dr. Neil Hilston, ex-officio; T.C. Daniels, George Cross, John Sullivan, Arthur Horr, George Froggatt, Jack Morton, Everett Teter, Neils Rasmussen, Albert Sims, Lloyd Froggatt, T.U. Slonaker, Howard Esmay, Paul LeBar, Don Thompson, Alex Cross, Tom Meisner, Ferris Thomas, Sr., Herman Falkenburg, Jess Morsch, Lee Moore, Leonard Strock, Fred Hildebrand.

Active pallbearers will include Ben LeVasseur, Jim Roush, Art Sims, Lyle Hildebrand, Otto Bolln, and John LeBar.

All State Department of Agriculture offices will be closed Friday in memory of Mr. Combs.


No Entries