Cross Jr., George Harry (1870 - November 3, 1970)

Last rites held for George Cross

Douglas Budget - November 12, 1970

On November 3rd, death took a beloved gentleman from his family and the community, George Cross had many, many friends statewide, and those in Converse County who knew him more intimately were keenly aware of his interest in world affairs, in his work for the benefit of the county which he served as Commissioner for fourteen years, for the livestock industry as a member of the Executive Committee of the Wyoming Stockgrowers Associated for thirty-two years. He ranched in Converse and Albany counties. He was a forty-five year member of the Casper Elks Club, a member of the Wyoming Pioneer Association, a former member of the Douglas Moose Club; in "Who's Who of Prominent Men of Wyoming." He was fiercely loyal, deeply religious, a kind father and husband and commanded the respect of every one for his honesty and integrity of character. It can be truthfully said that he loved his fellowmen and was loved by them. Such a man is a great man.

George Harry Cross, Jr. was born on the Upper LaPrele ranch, established in the early 1870's by his Canadian-born parents, the late Mr. and Mrs. George H. Cross, and received his education in rural and Douglas schools, Regis College, Denver, and University of Nebraska where he was a member of Phi Delta Theta fraternity.

He leaves to mourn his great loss, his wife, the former Mary Ryan, three sons, George H. III, John Michael, James Roderick, a daughter, Mary Julia; six grandchildren; a brother, former State Senator William H. Cross; sisters Mrs. Edwin J. Ball, Mrs. Geoffrey Morton of Oakland, California, Miss Alzire Cross and Mrs J. Mary Williams; several nieces and nephews. One sister, Mrs. Robert Hawley and twin brother, Alexander and Robert preceded him in death.

As Reverend Shawn Farren who conducted his funeral service at St. James Church on November 6th, quoted, "He came and stayed and went, nor ever ceased to smile."

Active casket bearers were Robert Hawley, Robert McMackin, James Ryan, Robert Cross, Michael Ryan, Lee Combs.

Honorary pall bearers were Thomas Virden, Jack Morton, Jim Gibb, Arthur C. Sims, Dan Hanson, Leonard Shaw, Robert Gravatt, Lloyd Huxtable, Otto Bolln, Ben LeVasseur, Henry Gedney, Jack Sullivan, Arthur Horr, George Mitchell of Wheatland, Dick Burnett, Jams Robbins of Medicine Bow and Frank Robbins of Glenrock.